The Dukan Diet and Its Different Stages

November 12, 2012

The Dukan Diet and Its Different Stages

The Dukan Diet refers to a nutritional approached based on protein. It was created by a French dietician and nutritionist named Pierre Dukan. In a nutshell, the Dukan Diet focuses on the way that primitive men ate back in the day. It includes a hundred foods in total, 28 of which are plant-based and 72 of which are sourced from animals. Although there is no limit to the amount of food that you can eat, you will have to stick to the hundred foods that can be found on the list. Here are the main stages of the diet:

Stage One: The Attack Stage

The goal of this stage is to help you lose weight as quickly as possible. Most people who follow this diet plan to a tee actually end up losing up to three kilos in ten days. This stage is basically known to effectively kick-start one’s metabolism. During this stage, you won’t be able to eat anything but an unlimited amount of lean and low-fat protein. This would include: Any types of beef Chicken Fish Eggs Cottage cheese Soy Aside from that, you will also have to drink 1.5 liters of water and eat 1.5 tablespoons of oat bran since oat bran will be the only source of carbohydrates that you will get during this stage. Besides, oat bran will help suppress your hunger overall.

Stage Two: The Cruise Stage

During this stage of the Dukan Diet, 28 different vegetables will be added onto your diet plan, though you still won’t be allowed to eat any fruits. The goal of this stage is to help you reach your target weight in a gradual manner. If you follow this stage to a tee, you should be able to lose a kilo every week. If you gain any weight during this stage, though, some foods might get banned from it. During this stage, you can eat as many vegetable as you want, though starchy vegetables aren’t allowed, such as the following: Carrots Peas Corn Aside from that, you can eat as many low-fat protein foods that you want. You will also have to keep drinking 1.5 liters of water and eating 1.5 tablespoons of oat bran.

Stage Three: The Consolidation Stage

The goal of this stage in the Dukan Diet would be to stop you from putting weight back on. You can eat as many vegetables and as much protein as you want every day during this stage, along with low-sugar fruits, some cheese and two whole-grain bread slices. You can also eat starchy food once a week and have a cheat day, wherein you can eat practically anything that you want.

Stage Four: The Stabilization Stage

This stage basically marks the diet plan’s maintenance stage. During this stage, you can eat anything at all – provided you follow these basic rules, that is:

1. Have one day where you eat nothing but protein, such as in the Attack Stage.

2. Eat 3 tablespoons of oat bran every day.

3. Take a walk for half an hour every day.

4. Swear off elevators or escalators.

If you want to maintain your weight, you will have to follow this stage of the Dukan Diet forever. In fact, it will have to become an integrated part of your overall lifestyle from now on.

Tags: ,

Category: Articles